CITY OF MARYSVILLE

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY FOR ACTION

CITY COUNCIL MEETING DATE: July 28, 2014

AGENDA ITEM:	AGENDA SECTION:
Planning Commission Recommendation	Mayor's Business
PREPARED BY:	AGENDA NUMBER:
Gloria Hirashima, Community Development Director	
ATTACHMENTS:	APPROVED BY:
	MAYOR CAO
BUDGET CODE:	AMOUNT:

Chapter 22G.050.020 identifies the appointment and terms for the Planning Commission:

22G.050.020 Appointment of members – Term of office.

The planning commission shall consist of seven members who shall be appointed by the mayor subject to confirmation by the city council. Members shall be appointed without regard to their political affiliation, and shall serve without compensation except as hereinafter provided. At least a majority of all commission members, at any time, shall be residents of the city. All members of the planning commission shall reside within the city's urban growth area. The term of office of each member shall be six years; said terms shall be staggered so that no more than two positions become vacant in any year. A commissioner may be removed from office by the mayor for inefficiency, negligence of duty or misconduct in office. (Ord. 2852 § 10 (Exh. A), 2011).

Kay Smith and Roger Hoen currently serve on the Planning Commission. Both are residents of the city of Marysville. Their terms will expire on August 2, 2014. The Mayor is seeking confirmation of a reappointment for both members.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Approve Mayor's reappointment of Kay Smith and Roger	
Hoen to the Planning Commission.	
COUNCIL ACTION:	